This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Nov. 8, 2018KANSAS CITY, Mo.

Woerth, Bruder headline All-MIAA honors

(Photo courtesy Northwest Athletics)

A record-setting season for Northwest Missouri State volleyball landed major recognition for head coach Amy Woerth and senior Maddy Bruder.

Woerth was named MIAA Coach of the Year and Bruder MIAA Player of the Year Thursday morning.

Woerth guided the Bearcats to a program-high 14 conference wins, and reached the 20-win plateau (22 wins) for just the second time since 1999. She also reached 100 career wins early in the season.

Bruder is the third Bearcat to be named player of the year joining Mary Beth Bishop (1984) and Jill Quast (2000). She led the MIAA in kills per set with 4.26, and posted 17 double-doubles on the season.

The full All-MIAA teams are below:

Player of the Year - Maddy Bruder - Northwest Missouri
Freshman of the Year - Hannah Engelken - Central Missouri
Coach of the Year - Amy Woerth - Northwest Missouri
Outside Hitter: Kylie Hohlen - Central Missouri - Sr.+
Outside Hitter: Taylor Bevis - Central Oklahoma - Sr.*
Outside Hitter: Julieanne Jackson - Nebraska Kearney - Jr.
Outside Hitter: Maddy Bruder - Northwest Missouri - Sr.*
Outside Hitter: Genna Berg - Washburn - So.
Outside Hitter: Erica Montgomery - Washburn - Jr.
Middle Blocker: Audrey Fisher- Central Missouri - So.
Middle Blocker: Jordan Spence - Central Oklahoma - Sr. ^
Middle Blocker: Tatum Graves - Emporia State - Sr.
Middle Blocker: Sofia Schleppenbach - Northwest Missouri - Sr.
Middle Blocker: Allison Maxwell - Washburn - So.
Setter: Lindsey Smith - Nebraska Kearney - Sr. ^
Setter: Maddy Ahrens - Northwest Missouri - So.
Setter: Shayla Conner - Washburn - Sr.
Libero/Defensive Specialist: Dominique Lipari - Central Oklahoma - Jr.
Libero/Defensive Specialist: Ellie McDonnell - Nebraska Kearney - Sr.
Libero/Defensive Specialist: Faith Rottinghaus - Washburn - So.
Tie in Voting
*-Four-Time First-Team Selection
^- Three-Time First-Team Selection
+-Two-Time First-Team Selection
Outside Hitter/Right Side: Yuchen Du - Emporia State - So.
Outside Hitter: Stephanie Doak - Missouri Western - Jr.
Outside Hitter: Kendall Schroer - Nebraska Kearney - Sr.
Outside Hitter: MK Wolfe - Nebraska Kearney - So.
Outside Hitter: Hallie Sidney - Northwest Missouri - So.
Outside Hitter/Right Side: Lauren Regier - Pittsburg State - Sr.
Middle Blocker: Sadie Kosciuk - Lindenwood - So.
Middle Blocker: Rachel Losch - Missouri Western - Sr.
Middle Blocker: Anna Squiers - Nebraska Kearney - So. 
Setter: Ally Offerdahl - Central Missouri - So.
Setter: McKenzie Fyfe - Central Oklahoma - Sr.
Setter: Bre Becker - Fort Hays State - Jr. 
Setter: Lauren Murphy - Missouri Western - Jr.
Libero/Defensive Specialist: Olivia Nowakowski - Northwest Missouri - Sr.
Honorable Mention
Central Missouri: Rylee Neigenfind - OH, Hannah Engelken - MB, Carly Offerdahl - L/DS
Central Oklahoma: Karyn Chrisman - RS, Amanda Desch - RS, Haley Deschenes - OH, Malia Kaaiohelo - MB,
Emporia State: Taylor Otting - OH, Emma Dixon - S, Allie Maloney - L/DS,
Fort Hays State: Azlyn Cassaday - OH
Lindenwood: Alexa Pressley - OH, Ally Clancy - S
Missouri Southern: Alicia Pickett - MB
Missouri Western: Shellby Taylor - RS, Ali Tauchen - MB, Audrey Keim - L/DS
Pittsburg State: Emily Reiger - MB, Lauren Dunn - L/DS
Southwest Baptist: Bailey Baumann - L/DS
Washburn: Makayla Maxwell - MB