This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Jan. 8, 2018MARYVILLE, Mo.

Tjeerdsma to enter College Football Hall of Fame

Download .mp3

During a 17-year career as the Northwest Missouri State University head football coach, Mel Tjeerdsma put the Bearcats on the map with multiple playoff appearances, conference titles and national championships.

This December, Tjeerdsma will be recognized for his accolades among the best that college football has to offer.

The National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced that Tjeerdsma would be part of the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame class.

Three coaches including Tjeerdsma and 10 players will be inducted during a ceremony December 4 in New York City.

During his career leading the Bearcats, Tjeerdsma won three national championships, 12 MIAA Conference titles, and 183 games. He was also the MIAA Coach of the Year 12 times, and the Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year in 2009. As the athletic director at Northwest, he has also overseen three additional national championships.

The full 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class is listed below:



·         TREVOR COBB – RB, Rice (1989-92)

·         KERRY COLLINS – QB, Penn State (1991-94)

·         DAVE DICKENSON – QB, Montana (1992-95)

·         DANA HOWARD – LB, Illinois (1991-94)

·         CALVIN JOHNSON – WR, Georgia Tech (2004-06)

·         PAUL PALMER – RB, Temple (1983-86)

·         ED REED – DB, Miami [Fla.] (1998-2001)

·         MATT STINCHCOMB – OT, Georgia (1995-98)

·         AARON TAYLOR – C/OG, Nebraska (1994-97)

·         CHARLES WOODSON – DB, Michigan (1995-97)


·         FRANK BEAMER – 280-144-4 (65.9%); Murray State (1981-86), Virginia Tech (1987-2015)

·         MACK BROWN – 244-122-1 (66.6%); Appalachian State (1983), Tulane (1985-87), North Carolina (1988-97), Texas (1998-2013)

·         MEL TJEERDSMA – 242-82-4 (74.4%); Austin College [Texas] (1984-93), Northwest Missouri State (1994-2010)