This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

March 31, 2018BALDWIN CITY, Ks.

Pitts a finalist for Bevo Francis Award

For the second consecutive season, Justin Pitts finds himself among the elite basketball players in small college basketball throughout the country.

Pitts is a finalist for the Bevo Francis Award which goes to the top small college basketball player from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA and NCCAA based on individual accolades, team achievements and personal character. Pitts brought home the honor in 2017 after Northwest capped a 35-1 national championship campaign.

Other finalists for the award include Lincoln Memorial's Emanuel Terry, West Texas A&M's David Chavlovich, Ferris State's Zach Hankins, Wheeling Jesuit's Haywood Highsmith, Carroll's Ryan Imhoff, Keiser's Deion McClenton, Cabrini's Tyheim Monroe, Western Oregon's Tanner Omlid, St. Thomas Aquinas' Justin Reyes, Springfield's Jake Ross, Shippensburg's Dustin Sleva and Cornerstone's Kyle Steigenga,  

During the 2017-18 season, Pitts was named MIAA Player of the Year, D2CCA Central Region Player of the Year, and first-team All-America by DII Bulletin, D2CCA and NABC. He's also the Bearcats career-leader in points, field goals made, field goals attempted, and assists.

The Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced Monday, April 2.