This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

March 5, 2014MARYVILLE, Mo. |  By: John Coffey

Bearcats Receive MIAA Honors

Northwest Missouri State men’s basketball senior, DeShaun Cooper, was named the MIAA Player of the Year in a release from the conference office on Tuesday, March 4, 2014. Zach Schneider was named the conference’s “Freshman of the Year.” The awards are voted upon by the league’s head coaches.

Cooper, who also earned first-team honors in 2011-12, was a unanimous first-team selection and was joined by Dillon Starzl who earned second teamhonors. Senior Bryston Williams was named to the All-Defensive team and also earned league honorable mention accolades with sophomore Conner Crooker.

The Bearcats have had three Player of the Year honors since 2004, as Cooper joins Hunter Henry (2007) and Kelvin Parker (2004) as recent award recipients. Cooper earned second team honors in 2011. Schneider becomes the fourth Bearcat to earn the Freshman of the Year award and the first since 2009-10 when Cooper won the award. Williams is now the seventh player to be named to the All-Defensive team.

The Northwest Missouri State women's basketball team also had two players honored by the MIAA Monday, March 3, 2014. Ariel Easton and Annie Mathews.

Junior guard Ariel Easton was named to the All-MIAA third team as she finished the regular season fourth in scoring average in the conference with 15.9 points per game. Easton led the Bearcats in scoring with 414 points while pulling down 119 rebounds.

Junior center Annie Mathews was selected as All-MIAA Honorable Mention after leading Northwest in field goal percentage (52%), free throw percentage (85%) , and rebounds (7.5/ game). This is the first All-MIAA selection for Mathews.