This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Jan. 15, 2014 |  By: K. Marsh

Henry S. Geyer Award

The University of Missouri Alumni Association recently honored state Representative Mike Thomson with one of its highest awards. Alongside MU Chancellor Brady Deaton, Thomson was presented with the Henry S. Geyer Award on Monday, January 13th.
Henry S. Geyer, for whom the award was named, is a former state representative who introduced the bill to establish the University of Missouri in 1839.
The award is presented each year by the Legislative Network Committee to one state-elected official and one exemplary citizen who reflect Geyer's spirit and dedication.
Thomson was nominated for the award by the Agriculture Alumni Organization. The organization noted Thomson for his continued efforts to support higher education public policy.
Thomson, a Republican, represents Missouri's District 1. He also serves as the Chair of the House Higher Education Committee, and as a member of the Budget, Education and Joint Education Committees to support the higher education goals and funding in Missouri.