This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Nov. 18, 2013Maryville, MO

Bearcat Football Players Named All-MIAA

Eighteen Northwest Missouri State University football student-athletes were named to the All-MIAA teams in a release from the conference office on Tuesday.

Senior Trevor Adams was named the MIAA Offensive Player of the Year, junior Matt Longacre earned Defensive Player of the Year honors and Adam Dorrel was named Coach of the Year. Northwest finished the season 11-0 and won the outright MIAA championship, the 25th conference title in program history. The Bearcats earned the top seed in the NCAA Division II playoff’s Super Region Three, and will host the winner of the Minnesota Duluth and Emporia State contest on Nov. 30 at noon at Bearcat Stadium. Joining Adams and Longacre on the All-MIAA first team was offensive lineman Cody Carlson, defensive lineman Brandon Yost, linebacker Eric Reimer, linebacker D.J. Gnader and defensive back Brandon Dixon. Second Team honors go to offensive lineman C.J. Keeney, defensive back Brian Dixon and punter Kyle Goodburn. On the third team from Northest...tight end Marcus Wright and offensive lineman Cole Chevalier. Earning honorable mention accolades was running back Billy Creason, receiver Clint Utter, tight end Joel Gantz, defensive lineman Bryant Hummel, defensive lineman Matt Meinert and defensive back Bryce Enyard. Bearcat head coach Adam Dorrel says he's happy with the recognition the conference coaches are giving his players.

WarningAudio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download .mp3

This year's MIAA football Coach of the Year...Adam Dorrel. The Bearcats have this week off before playing for the winner of the Minnesota-Duluth-Emporia State match up on November 30th. at Bearcat Stadium.