This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

July 5, 2013MO |  By: Barnett

Disaster Declaration

Last summers drought was an extensive setback for area farmers.

To help these farmers, emergency loans are being offered to 31 counties in Missouri by the United States Department of Agricultures Farm Service Agency. Nodaway county is one of the counties designated as a natural disaster area, and farm loan manager for the Nodaway County Farm Service Agency, Charlotte Holeman, says these loans are being dispersed to help with financial distress.

WarningAudio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download .mp3

Other counties in the Northwest Missouri region include Andrew, Atchison, Caldwell, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Lafayette, Livingston, and Worth. In order to qualify, a farmer must have suffered a 30 percent loss in production or an actual physical loss that was essential to the successful operation of the farm. Interested farmers may contact the Nodaway County FSA office at 660-582-7423 for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures.