This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Aug. 22, 2012MO |  By: Thomack

Disaster Declaration Loans

The Secretary of Agriculture recently designated Iowa counties as primary agricultural natural disaster areas making 2 neighboring Missouri counties also eligible for loans.

Farmers and other agricultural producers in Atchison and Nodaway counties are now eligible for low-interest emergency loans and other disaster programs from the U-S-D-A's Farm Service Agency. Nodaway County Farm Loan Manager Charlotte Holeman says farmers can qualify if they suffered a 30 percent loss in production but there are also other ways for them to find assistance.

WarningAudio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download .mp3

Holeman says loans can be used for operating systems for next year, to restructure debt or to repurchase livestock. To find out more information about low-interest loans or other assistance programs, contact the Nodaway County FSA office.