This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

June 7, 2012NODAWAY COUNTY, MO |  By: Fluker

Disaster Relief

Last August the Secretary of Agriculture designated seven Northwest Missouri counties as primary agricultural natural disaster areas. 

The designation came about due to damages and losses caused by severe storms with hail and high winds on August 18th. The application deadline for relief loans for farmers is coming up. Nodaway County Farm Loan Manager Charlotte Holeman says applications for loans to help repair and recover are available now.

WarningAudio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download .mp3

Eligible counties for relief include Andrew, Atchison, Gentry, Nodaway and Platte County, as well as contiguous counties Buchanan, DeKalb, Holt and Worth counties. To apply for these low-interest emergency loans, farmers must have suffered a 30% loss in production or physical loss essential to operation from the storm. The deadline for the Farm Service Agency loans is August 8th. For more information call the Nodaway County FSA office at 600 582 7423.