This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Aug. 15, 2011ANDREW COUNTY, MO |  By: Wayman

New Disaster Declaration

Residents in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, and Holt counties are now in a federally designated disaster area.

The White House made that declaration on Friday. It will help make federal funding available to those counties to help recover from the floods and any damage from them occurring in June or July. This can include grants for temporary housing, funds for home repairs, and low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses. Citizens and businesses can contact the federal emergency management agency for eligibility requirements. That toll free number is 8621 FEMA. FEMA continues this week surveying flood damage, and adds more counties could be added to the declaration area.