This website is best viewed in a browser that supports web standards.

Skip to content or, if you would rather, Skip to navigation.


News Brief

Aug. 30, 2011MARYVILLE, MO |  By: Wayman

Federal Disaster Relief

More federal assistance is coming to our area as a result of the severe weather we've had.

The USDA has designated 7 counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas, and several other counties also qualify because they are joining the borders of the primary area. The declaration comes as agriculture producers have suffered losses from flooding as well as recent excessive rain, high winds, and hail. In our region producers in the following counties can apply for the assistance: the Kansas counties of Atchison, Brown and Doniphan. You can contact your local USDA office for eligibility. Missouri counties include Andrew, Buchanan, and Holt. State authorities are also offering residents whose employment was lost or interrupted by the Missouri River flooding. Counties under that designation are, in Missouri, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, and Holt. The Missouri Department of Labor is taking applications for that assistance.